Coronavirus

Measure package for the economy

Public and economic life in Switzerland is severely restricted due to the new coronavirus. In order to safeguard jobs and incomes in the Canton of Zurich as far as possible, the Government Council of the Canton of Zurich has resolved upon a measure package to support the Zurich economy. These measures are meant to be applied where the instruments of the Federal Government are not effective.

Measure package at a glance

Loan loss guarantee for small and medium-sized enterprises

The Federal Council is calling on the Zurich commercial banks to provide loans to the companies affected by the corona measures. To cover the risks, it has granted a loan loss guarantee of CHF 425 million.

Requirements for the cantonal loan loss guarantee:

  • Loans to companies with a tax domicile in the canton of Zurich
  • Companies with up to 250 employees

Contact your commercial bank if you meet those requirements

This measure complements the fast and uncomplicated handling of applications for short-time work and unemployment benefits as well as social welfare for personal emergencies.

COVID19 Federal bridging allowance

According to the Federal Council, SMEs should have rapid access to credit to bridge liquidity bottlenecks caused by corona. The best way to apply for the loans is to apply for them at your house bank. They are backed by the federal government.

Support for non-profit organizations

The Federal Council wants to help and support non-profit organizations in areas such as culture, social services and education: To this end, it supplements the annual contributions from the lottery fund by making an additional CHF 20 million available to the Cultural Department. A total of CHF 8 million will go to the Building Department, the Department of Education and the Department for Economic Affairs, as well as to the Sports fund for their non-profit organizations. 

Help for the self-employed

Self-employed persons often have a small capital buffer. This is why the Government Council of the Canton of Zurich is making CHF 15 million from the ZKB  nniversary dividend available for fast and unbureaucratic support. The municipalities are familiar with the local circumstances and can ensure that the emergency relief is coordinated with other social security systems.

Adjustments in taxation

Extension of deadline for filing tax return for natural persons

The Department of Finance has extended the statutory deadline for filing the 2019 tax return for natural persons until May 31, 2020.

Adjustment of the provisional tax invoice

  • Companies expecting to incur losses due to the effects of coronavirus
  • Natural persons incurring loss of income

You can request the municipal tax office to adjust the provisional invoice for federal and municipal taxes.

Extension of the payment deadline or payment by installments for final tax invoices

  • Companies and natural persons who are currently unable to pay due final tax invoices owing to the effects of the coronavirus: You can request an extension of the payment deadline or payment by installments. 
  • Regarding direct federal tax, also provisional tax invoices can be deferred. 

Contact the relevant tax office as needed.

  • Municipal tax office: Federal and municipal taxes
  • Cantonal tax office: direct federal tax 

Goodwill regarding invoices

The Government Council of the Canton of Zurich calls on all public bodies to pay incoming invoices faster than within 30 days. The payment deadlines for issued invoices shall be extended to 120 days. This is supposed to alleviate the cost pressure on companies.

Extension of rent in cantonal properties

The canton may grant a rent deferral, but cannot waive the rent. On approval, the rent (or the rent share for the months of April and May 2020 in the case of quarterly payments) can be paid at a later date. Please contact the real estate office if you have any questions.

Interchange with economy

Zurich employer- and employee organizations were invited to a virtual round table. An interchange is taking place on a digital platform to ensure close involvement of those directly affected.

Coronavirus

Massnahmenpaket für die Wirtschaft

Das öffentliche und wirtschaftliche Leben in der Schweiz ist aufgrund des neuen Coronavirus stark eingeschränkt. Um die Arbeitsplätze und Einkommen im Kanton Zürich möglichst weitgehend zu sichern, hat der Regierungsrat ein Massnahmenpaket zur Unterstützung der Zürcher Wirtschaft beschlossen. Diese Massnahmen sollen dort zum Einsatz kommen, wo die Instrumente des Bundes nicht greifen.

Der Kantonsrat hat das Massnahmenpaket am 30. März 2020 nachträglich ohne Gegenstimme beschlossen.

Kantonsratssitzung vom 30. März 2020

Start / Stop Ton aus / ein Zurück

Statements von Regierungspräsidentin Carmen Walker Späh und Regierungsrat Ernst Stocker in Kantonsrat.

Massnahmenpaket im Überblick

Kreditausfallgarantie für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen

Der Regierungsrat hat die Zürcher Geschäftsbanken dazu aufgerufen, den durch die Corona-Massnahmen betroffenen Unternehmen mit Darlehen beizustehen. Zwölf Banken beteiligten sich daran. Zur Abdeckung der Risiken hat der Regierungsrat eine Kreditausfallgarantie von 425 Millionen Franken zugesichert. 

Voraussetzungen für die kantonale Kreditausfallgarantie:

  • Darlehen an Unternehmen mit einem Steuerdomizil im Kanton Zürich
  • Unternehmen bis zu 250 Mitarbeitenden

Melden Sie sich bei Ihrer Geschäftsbank, wenn Sie diese Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Ihre Bank entscheidet über die Kreditvergabe und ist Ihre Ansprechstelle.

Diese Massnahme ergänzt die rasche und unkomplizierte Handhabung von Gesuchen um Kurzarbeits- und Arbeitslosenentschädigung sowie von Sozialhilfe für persönliche Notlagen.

COVID19 Überbrückungshilfe des Bundes

KMU sollen gemäss Bundesrat raschen Zugang zu Krediten für die Überbrückung von Corona-bedingten Liquiditätsengpässen erhalten. Die Kredite können am besten bei der Hausbank beantragt werden. Sie werden vom Bund abgesichert.

Covid-19-Kredite: Erklärvideo des Bundes

Start / Stop Ton aus / ein Zurück

Covid-19-Kredite: Erklärvideo des Bundes

Unterstützung für gemeinnützige Organisationen

Der Regierungsrat will gemeinnützigen Organisationen aus Bereichen wie der Kultur, dem Sozialwesen und der Bildung unter die Arme greifen: Er ergänzt dafür die jährlichen Leistungen aus dem Lotteriefonds, indem er der Fachstelle Kultur zusätzliche 20 Millionen Franken zur Verfügung stellt. 8 Millionen Franken gehen insgesamt an die Bau-, die Bildungs- und die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion sowie an den Sportfonds für deren gemeinnützige Organisationen. 

Hilfe für Selbstständige

Selbständigerwerbende verfügen oftmals über ein geringes Kapitalpolster. Deshalb stellt der Regierungsrat den Gemeinden 15 Millionen Franken aus der Jubiläumsdividende der ZKB für unbürokratische und schnelle Unterstützung zur Verfügung. Die Gemeinden kennen die lokalen Verhältnisse, und sie können die Abstimmung der Soforthilfe mit den anderen sozialen Sicherungssystemen gewährleisten.

Start / Stop Ton aus / ein Zurück

Taggeld für Selbständige und Kulturschaffende: Erklärvideo des Bundes

Anpassungen im Steuerbereich

Fristerstreckung Steuererklärung für natürliche Personen

Die Finanzdirektion hat die ordentliche Frist zur Einreichung der Steuererklärung 2019 für natürliche Personen bis zum 31. Mai 2020 erstreckt.

Anpassung der provisorischen Steuerrechnung

  • Unternehmen, die aufgrund der Auswirkungen des Coronavirus mit Verlusten rechnen
  • Natürliche Personen, die Einkommenseinbussen erleiden

Sie können beim Gemeindesteueramt eine Anpassung der provisorischen Rechnung für die Staats- und Gemeindesteuern verlangen.

Erstreckung der Zahlungsfrist oder Ratenzahlungen für definitive Steuerrechnungen

  • Unternehmen und natürliche Personen, die aufgrund der Auswirkungen des Coronavirus fällige definitive Steuerrechnungen derzeit nicht bezahlen können: Sie können eine Erstreckung der Zahlungsfrist oder Ratenzahlungen erlangen. 
  • Bei der direkten Bundessteuer können auch provisorische Steuerrechungen gestundet werden. 

Melden Sie sich bei Bedarf beim zuständigen Steueramt.

  • Gemeindesteueramt: Staats- und Gemeindesteuern
  • Kantonales Steueramt: direkte Bundessteuer 

Mietzinsaufschub in kantonalen Liegenschaften

Der Kanton kann einen Mietzinsaufschub gewähren, aber den Mietzins nicht erlassen. Auf Zusehen hin kann der Mietzins (oder der Mietzinsanteil für die Monate April und Mai 2020 bei Quartalszahlung) zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bezahlt werden. Für Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte ans Immobilienamt:

Kulanz bei Rechnungen

Der Regierungsrat ruft alle Körperschaften der öffentlichen Hand dazu auf, eingehende Rechnungen schneller als innerhalb von 30 Tagen zu begleichen. Die Zahlungsfristen für gestellte Rechnungen sollen auf 120 Tage verlängert werden. So soll der Kostendruck der Unternehmen gemildert werden.

Austausch mit der Wirtschaft

Zürcher Arbeitgeber- und Arbeitnehmerorganisationen wurden zu einem virtuellen Round Table eingeladen. Auf einer digitalen Plattform findet ein Austausch statt, um den engen Einbezug der Direktbetroffenen sicherzustellen.