What we do

«The Department for Economic Affairs sees to the promotion and development of the Canton of Zurich as an attractive economic and living environment in the area of traffic, the economy and labour.»

Kreisel

The competitiveness of Zurich as an economic area depends largely on a future-oriented and lasting railway, road, air and non-motorised traffic infrastructure. In the Department for Economic Affairs, we deal with the important task of the strategic planning and controlling (management and control) of traffic.

The mandate of the Department for Economic Affairs in the traffic area

Planning and control of total traffic

A long-term, thorough planning of the development of transport is done under consideration of the environment, demographic and workplace developments, spatial planning, the changes in terms of leisure behaviour and, of course, limited financial means. All these aspects lead to the total transport concept which forms the basis for long-term developments of the traffic network. The Department for Economic Affairs is competent in the field of implementation and further development of the total transport concept. In addition, we look after the details of the regional total transport concept as well as of the agglomeration programme «urban areas and transport».

Planning of traffic infrastructures

Infrastructure planning takes place under the umbrella of the Department for Economic Affairs. Our experts develop specific projects (e.g. bypass roads), taking into consideration of the needs of municipalities, planning regions and other authorities and offices. It also deals with the coordination of all projects and their funding and sees to the fact that the canton can safeguard its interests regarding trunk roads in the area of the canton.

Representation of interests in the Airport and air traffic areas

Zurich Airport plays a major role as a Swiss airport and is of outstanding importance for the economy and transport in Switzerland and in the metropolitan area of Zurich. The Canton of Zurich is the principle shareholder of the Flughafen Zürich AG and thus also exerts its influence in terms of the business strategy of the airport. The ownership strategy decided by the Government Council defines the general orientation of the representation of interests; the controlling of participations serves the purpose of control and monitoring. The Airport and Air traffic Division manages the Zurich Airport participation. Further tasks: Monitoring the adherence to approach and departure routes and to the rules applicable to night flights, assessment of applications of the Flughafen Zürich AG to the federal government concerning changes to the position and length of runways or modifications of the operating regulations with substantial consequences on aircraft noise emissions, periodic surveys, analyses, and reports on the Zurich Noise Index.

Management of public transport

The Zurich Transport Authority ZVV (public transport) is under the administration of our Department. Carmen Walker Späh, the Head of the Department for Economic Affairs chairs the Transport Council, i.e. the ZVV Board of Directors. The Zurich Transport Authority ZVV provides public transport for the entire canton and for its surrounding municipalities. It also coordinates, manages and funds the S-Bahn trains, tramway and bus lines, waterway links and mountain railways.

Further tasks

Under the umbrella of the Department for Economic Affairs, cantonal authorisations for the professional transport of passengers by motor vehicles or vessels as well as by aerial cableways, inclined lifts, and ski lifts are issued. We also process building applications for private and public construction projects along trunk and national roads and manage the building lines along national roads.

Service

The Department for Economic Affairs supports the aim to promote and develop Zurich as an attractive business location in Europe. Our Department provides services that contribute to a positive economic climate for companies.

We support the quick and lasting reintegration of job seekers, monitor accident prevention and preventive medicine in companies, the enforcement of flanking measures and we promote publicly assisted housing.

The Department for Economic Affairs' mandate in the areas of the economy and labour

Promotion of Zurich as a business location

We are the Center of Excellence for questions pertaining to the location, settlement and founding of companies in the Canton of Zurich. The Department for Economic Affairs is committed to minimising red tape for companies. To promote future-oriented sectors in the Canton of Zurich, we speed up the networking of companies of the same sector throughout the value chain.

Issuance of work permits

The Department for Economic Affairs checks and issues work permits for foreign workers in the Canton of Zurich who do not benefit from the free of movement of persons applicable to Switzerland and the EU. Amongst other things, it checks the usual local and sectoral wage and working conditions.

Reintegration of job seekers in the labour market

The regional employment centers (REC) under our supervision have close contact to employers and private employment agencies. We want to integrate job seekers into the labour market in a quick and lasting fashion. We also make sure that a sufficient amount of high-quality offers for further qualification is made available to the job seekers at the right time. The Office for the self-employed is geared towards the needs of future small businesses. It provides counselling on the topic of self-employment and offers strategic analysis.

Unemployment insurance benefits

In the Canton of Zurich, we see to a harmonised enforcement of the Federal Law on Unemployment Insurance and prevent the wrongful payment of daily benefits. The unemployment insurance scheme of the Canton of Zurich takes care of benefit payments in case of unemployment, short-time work, bad weather and insolvency.

Monitoring working conditions

The main focus of our activity lies in the prevention of accidents at the workplace and occupational illnesses through controls, expertise, authorisations and counselling of authorities, employers and employees. In addition, the monitoring of the work and rest periods under the Labour Law as well as the temporary work permits under it is part of our core tasks. In the framework of the flanking measures regarding the free movement of persons and the fight against illegal employment we control employer-employee relationships and the adherence to the applicable working and wage conditions as well as the legal registration and authorisation obligations in order to guarantee fair conditions for employers and employees on the labour market.

Promotion of residential construction

One of the challenges for the Canton of Zurich is making available affordable apartments for rent for persons with low income and few assets. We support publicly assisted housing with low-interest loans or payment of the deposits.

Guaranteeing the National Economic Supply

Provisions as to the guaranteeing of basic supplies in times of crisis are jointly planned by the state and the economy. The responsibility for its concrete implementation lies with the Office of National Economic Supply of the Canton of Zurich. The measures focus primarily on the rationing of food and fuel supplies as well as on heating oil management.

Nos activités

« La Direction de l'économie a pour tâche de promouvoir et de développer le canton de Zurich comme espace vital et économique intéressant dans ses domaines d'activité que sont les transports, l'économie et le travail ».

Kreisel

La compétitivité de l'espace économique de Zurich dépend essentiellement d'une infrastructure durable et efficace des transports pour le trafic ferroviaire, routier, aérien et lent. A la Direction de l'économie, notre importante mission consiste en la planification stratégique et le contrôle (pilotage et gestion) des transports.

Les missions de la Direction de l'économie dans le domaine des transports

Planification et gestion des transports

Le développement des transports est planifié à long terme et de façon minutieuse compte tenu de l'environnement, du développement démographique et des emplois, de l'aménagement du territoire, du changement des comportements en matière de loisirs mais aussi, bien entendu, compte tenu des moyens financiers limités disponibles. Tous ces aspects débouchent sur le plan de coordination des transports, lequel sert de base au développement à long terme des réseaux de transport. A la Direction de l'économie, nous sommes responsables de la mise en œuvre et du développement du plan de coordination des transports. En outre, nous nous occupons des plans régionaux améliorés de coordination des transports ainsi que du programme d'agglomération « Urbanisation et transports ».

Planification des infrastructures de transport

La Direction de l'économie comprend la planification des infrastructures. Nos spécialistes élaborent des projets concrets (p. ex. contournements de localités) tout en tenant compte des besoins des communes, des régions de planification et des autres offices et services. C'est également là que sont coordonnés et financés tous les projets, et ce service permet au canton de défendre au niveau cantonal ses intérêts en matière de routes nationales.

Représentation des intérêts dans le domaine de l'aéroport et du trafic aérien

L'aéroport de Zurich, comme aéroport national, revêt une grande importance en matière d'économie nationale et de marché pour la Suisse et la grande agglomération de Zurich. Le canton de Zurich est l'actionnaire principal de Flughafen Zürich AG et exerce donc une influence sur la stratégie commerciale de l'aéroport. La stratégie du propriétaire décidée par le Conseil d'Etat définit les limites de la représentation des intérêts ; le controlling participatif sert à la surveillance et à la gestion. Notre service Aéroport et trafic aérien gère la participation à l'aéroport de Zurich. Les autres missions sont les suivantes : contrôle du respect des itinéraires de décollage et d'atterrissage et du règlement relatif aux vols de nuit, examen des demandes de Flughafen Zürich AG adressées à la Confédération concernant les modifications de l'emplacement et de la longueur des pistes et/ou les modifications du règlement intérieur qui ont d'importantes répercussions sur les émissions sonores dues à l'aviation, les sondages périodiques, les analyses et les rapports concernant l'indice zurichois du bruit des avions.

Gestion des transports publics

L'Union des transports zurichois (ZVV) est administrativement rattachée à notre direction. La directrice de l'économie, Carmen Walker Späh, préside le conseil des transports, le conseil administratif de ZVV. L'Union des transports zurichois ZVV assure le développement des transports publics dans le canton et les communes limitrophes. Pour cela, elle coordonne, pilote et finance les lignes de S-Bahn (train express régional), de tram et de bus, les liaisons par bateau et les chemins de fer de montagne.

Autres missions

Sous la Direction de l'économie sont délivrées les autorisations cantonales pour le transport commercial de personnes avec des automobiles ou des bateaux ainsi qu'avec des téléphériques, des ascenseurs à plan incliné et des remontées mécaniques. Nous traitons les demandes de construction pour les projets privés et publics le long des routes nationales et cantonales et exploitons les lignes de construction le long des routes cantonales.

Service

La Direction de l'économie soutient les efforts visant à la promotion et au développement de Zurich comme espace économique intéressant en Europe. Par ses services, notre direction apporte sa contribution à l'instauration d'un climat économique favorable aux entreprises.

Nous soutenons la réinsertion professionnelle rapide et durable des demandeurs d'emploi, contrôlons la prévention des accidents et l'hygiène au sein des entreprises, la mise en œuvre des mesures complémentaires et encourageons la construction de logements sociaux et d'utilité publique.

Les missions de la Direction de l'économie dans le domaine de l'économie et du travail

Promotion de l'espace économique de Zurich

Nous sommes le centre de compétence pour les questions relatives à cet espace, pour les implantations et les créations d'entreprises dans le canton de Zurich. La Direction de l'économie s'engage à réduire au minimum les démarches administratives pour les entreprises. Pour renforcer les branches prometteuses dans le canton de Zurich, nous accélérons l'interconnexion des entreprises de la même branche le long de la chaîne de la création de valeur.

Délivrance des permis de travail

La Direction de l'économie examine et délivre dans le canton de Zurich les permis de travail aux travailleurs étrangers qui ne bénéficient pas encore de la liberté de circulation des personnes Suisse-UE. Elle contrôle, entre autres, les conditions de travail et de salaire habituelles pour le lieu ou la branche.

Réinsertion des demandeurs d'emploi sur le marché du travail

Les Offices régionaux de placement (ORP), placés sous notre direction, sont en contact étroit avec les employeurs et les agences privées de placement. Nous souhaitons insérer rapidement et durablement les demandeurs d'emploi sur le marché de l'emploi. Nous veillons en outre à proposer une offre de qualification de très grande qualité pour les demandeurs d'emploi, ce en quantité suffisante et au bon moment. Le service dédié au travail indépendant s'adresse aux futurs petits entrepreneurs. Il conseille les personnes intéressées par le travail indépendant et propose une définition d'implantation.

Prestations de l'assurance-chômage

Nous veillons à une application uniforme de la loi fédérale sur l'assurance-chômage dans le canton de Zurich et empêchons les abus en matière de perception des indemnités journalières. La caisse de chômage du canton de Zurich verse rapidement et de manière compétente les indemnités de chômage, de chômage partiel, en cas d'intempéries et en cas d'insolvabilité.

Contrôle des conditions de travail

Dans nos activités, nous mettons l'accent sur la prévention des accidents de travail et des maladies par le biais de contrôles, d'expertises, d'autorisations et de conseils des autorités, des employeurs et des travailleurs. Font en outre partie de nos principales missions le contrôle du respect des temps de travail et de repos prescrits par la loi sur le travail ainsi que la délivrance des permis de travail temporaires prévus par ladite loi. Dans le cadre des mesures complémentaires relatives à la libre circulation des personnes et à la lutte contre le travail au noir, les contrats de travail font l'objet de contrôles concernant le bon respect des conditions de travail et de salaire applicables ainsi que des obligations légales de déclaration et d'autorisation, ce afin de garantir aux employeurs et aux travailleurs des conditions loyales sur le marché du travail.

Encouragement de la construction de logements

Un des défis du canton de Zurich réside dans la mise à disposition de logements locatifs avantageux pour les personnes à revenu modéré et à faible patrimoine. Nous encourageons la construction de logements d'utilité publique avec des prêts affichant des taux d'intérêts avantageux ou par la prise en charge des frais de cautionnement.

Garantie de l'approvisionnement économique du pays

Les mesures pour garantir l'approvisionnement de base en temps de crise sont définies conjointement par l'Etat et l'économie. Dans le canton de Zurich, leur mise en œuvre concrète est du ressort du service Approvisionnement économique du pays. Les mesures se concentrent prioritairement sur le rationnement des denrées alimentaires et du carburant ainsi que du fioul domestique.